Readers Lead Discussion About Certifications,Environmental and Infrastructure Jobs

I thought I had something to write but…..

I knew this would happen someday but I did not think it would be this bad. I have writer’s block. It is torturous to me because I am a person who is hardly at a loss for words. I sat in front of my computer numerous times this week and nothing came out. It’s frustrating! So to help me get through this tough situation, I am going to turn to you – the readers to start the discussion.

It is your turn to lead the conversation…….

I am going to write some questions for your comments (All comments will be reviewed before they are posted

  1. How do you define the term “green job” now versus two years ago?
  2. How did the Oil Spill change your perspective about a career in the environmental industry?
  3. Did the Stimulus bill improve our infrastructure? Why or why not?

Thanks for your comments.

SH

Comments
5 Responses to “Readers Lead Discussion About Certifications,Environmental and Infrastructure Jobs”
  1. Kevin S. says:

    Mr. Hinton:

    In response to your 3-posted questions, I would say that my definition of “green Job” has not changed due largely in part to my experience within the environmental industry. Having received my undergraduate training in the environmental discipline along with the 15 years spent as an environmental consultant addressing various environmental remedial projects, site investigations, etc. I would like to think (note the operative word think) because of my training and experience, that I had a pretty encompassing definition of what constitutes a “green job”.

    In response to your second question pertaining to a perspective change about a career within the environmental industry, I have had no change in perspective due once again to my experience within the environmental industry.

    To respond to your final question about improvements to our infrastructure as a result of the stimulus bill, I would ask you to be more specific with your question.

    Regards

    • Thanks for the comment, Kevin S.

      Let me ask you a specific question: What are 3 qualities a person must possess to be successful in the environmental industry?

      As far as my third question, have you seen any major projects like electrical grid work or bridge construction in your area?

      • Kevin S. says:

        Mr. Hinton:

        I would say the three qualities a person must possess to be successful within the environmental industry would be flexibility, the ability and willingness to work long hours, and the ability to provide cost effective solutions. I know these qualities sound cliche but they are the ones I have found that facilitate success within the industry.

        I have seen some major road/bridge work going on here in Houston. Having said that, I not sure that it can be attributed stimulus dollars…

  2. mal says:

    Funny you should ask. This week’s issue of Time Magazine features the article;

    “Gulf Spill: Making Money From The Mess”.

    It seems that every disaster is an opportunity for someone. The article estimates there are 45,000 people working on the BP spill cleanup.

    • Thanks for the comment Mal
      45,000 seems to be a low number to me. I expect the number to balloon higher because everyone wants this spill cleaned up as soon as possible. Please share your thoughts on the article.

Leave a Reply

